© 2019 by Friendly Dane Designs for The Independent Audiobook Awards

independent audiobook awards

coronavirus statement

In light of the continued uncertainty surrounding COVID-19 and the precautions being taken worldwide to manage this pandemic, we have chosen not to hold The Independent Audiobook Awards as scheduled this June.


We are working together to come up with a plan so that we can still have an amazing 2020 Independent Audiobook Awards Ceremony and will keep everyone posted as those details come together.

We would like to thank everyone for your patience as this unfolds.

The IAA staff is working hard on developing a new plan for the 2020 awards ceremony. Although we can't come together in person for our celebration this year, we will do our best to make this a stellar virtual experience. 
We will let everyone know the details as soon as they are worked out. 
Announcing the 2020 IAA


The Independent Audiobook Awards honors the best in independent audiobook production and performance. A proud part of the HEAR Now Festival.


IAA Committee Members


Jeffrey Kafer, Co-chair (2019, 2020)

Joe Hempel, Co-chair (2019, 2020)

Sue Zizza,  (2019, 2020)

Jamie Walsh, Producer (2019, 2020)

Lauri Jo Daniels, Assistant Producer (2019, 2020); Project Manager (2020); Web Designer


 Event Info 

event tickets

Want to attend The Independent Audiobook Awards at The Hear Now Festival this year?

Click here to purchase tickets for festival tickets. Individual tickets to the Awards Ceremony are also available.

hotel & travel

The Independent Audiobook Awards takes place each June in Kansas City, MO at the Hear Now Festival. Click here for hotel & travel information.


See a list of the finalists for previous years.



If you have an inquiry about submissions please click HERE to use the form on the Submissions Page.